Spring 2023 CLEAN Webinars

Teaching Climate and Energy with CLEAN

Karin Kirk, Geologist and Science Writer

Date & Time: February 1st, 2023. 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/ 3pm PT. (30 minutes).

This webinar introduces the Climate and Energy Literacy Principles and how they are integrated with the CLEAN collection of climate and energy resources. These principles provide the foundation for understanding the science behind climate and energy concepts.


Making Climate Change Connections Across the Curriculum with CLEAN and UGC: Practices for Systems Thinking in the Classroom

Jessica Bean, University of California Berkeley

Date & Time: February 9th, 2023. 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/ 3pm PT. (60 minutes).

Climate change is connected to interdisciplinary topics across the curriculum. Explore how to engage students in systems thinking and construct explanations about the world around them!


Teaching Climate Consequences with CLEAN: Motivate and Inspire, Don't Despair

Karin Kirk, Geologist and Science Writer

Date & Time: February 15th, 2023. 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/ 3pm PT. (30 minutes).

The consequences of climate change are all around us, unfortunately. How can we teach these topics without overwhelming our students or causing anxiety? In this webinar, climate communicator Karin Kirk will share strategies for building connections between cause and effect, showcasing solutions, and using local approaches to make science relevant and inspiring. All the teaching tools highlighted in this webinar are appropriate for online teaching.


Exploring Hands-on, STEM-based Energy Activities for the Classroom

Dana Haine, UNC-Chapel Hill Institute for the Environment, and Andrea Gladden, East Burke Middle School

Date & Time: February 21st, 2023. 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/ 3pm PT. (60 minutes).

 

During this webinar, educators from the NC Energy Literacy Fellows program will share ideas and resources for incorporating hands-on STEM-based energy activities into instruction. In addition to showcasing a range of activities to teach about electricity generation and renewable energy, we'll discuss strategies for adapting and extending activities to meet instructional goals for both science and CTE classrooms.


Beyond Doom & Gloom: How to Teach Climate Change Towards Empowerment with CLEAN

Alicia Christensen, CIRES Outreach Associate

Date & Time: April 20th, 2023 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/ 3pm PT. (60 minutes).

 

Educators will learn about CLEAN's new resources related to climate mental health and will walk away with a variety of strategies and activities to integrate into their curriculum as they engage with today's youth.