CLEAN > CLEAN Network > Workshops > Climate Communication 2012 > Instructions for Myth Debunking
Share

Instructions for Myth Debunking

Part I

Attend synchronous session III - Debunking Myths, on Wednesday April 4 at
2:00 - 3:30 Pacific time | 3:00 - 4:30 Mt time | 4:00 - 5:30 Central time | 5:00 - 6:30 Eastern time

In preparation for this session, download the Debunking Handbook

During the session, John Cook will illustrate the process of constructing a response to a climate myth or misconception.

Part II

At the end of the session, participants will break into groups of 2-3 to create a response to a common climate misconception. The 'debunking' will be framed such that it can be used to increase student understanding of these misconceptions. A web page template for the debunking will be provided to each group.

Each group will create a web page that describes the following components

  • Describe this climate myth
  • Describe the actual climate science
  • Audience and context
  • Debunking Outline
    • Headline
    • Core fact reinforced
    • Graphic
    • Explicit warning of upcoming myth
    • The myth
    • Fill the gap
  • Teaching Tips
  • Assessment
  • References
These web pages will be found in the workshop workspace. Only registered workshop participants with SERC accounts will be able to access these pages.

Part III

Attend Synchronous session V - on Thursday April 5 at
2:00 - 3:30 Pacific time | 3:00 - 4:40 Mt time | 4:00 - 5:30 Central time | 5:00 - 6:30 Eastern time


During this session, groups will give a brief show and tell of their myth debunking page.